// Disable automatic page reload

Type to search

Cricket Sports

Pakistan Triumphs Over Nepal, Winning By 238-Runs Margin

Pakistan Triumphs Over Nepal, Winning By 238-Runs Margin

Pakistan secured a resounding victory against Nepal, prevailing by a significant margin of 238 runs in the opening match of the Asia Cup 2023 held at the Multan Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

The hosts exhibited a comprehensive performance, asserting their dominance over the visiting team in all facets of the game.

Pakistan’s strong form persisted following their entrance into the Asia Cup on a triumphant note, having achieved the top spot in the ICC ODI rankings after a convincing 3-0 sweep against Afghanistan in Sri Lanka.

Read more : Aima Baig, Trishala Gurung Set For Asia Cup Opening Ceremony

Shadab Khan emerged as a pivotal figure for Pakistan, taking four wickets for just 27 runs, a key factor in the Green Shirts’ comprehensive victory as Nepal’s innings ended at 104 runs.

The second innings featured standout moments, including Mohammad Rizwan’s exceptional wicketkeeping catch and Fakhar Zaman’s remarkable catch in the field.

Shaheen Shah Afridi showcased his prowess by dismissing two Nepali batsmen in the very first over.

In the initial innings, Pakistan amassed a commanding total of 342-6 in 50 overs after choosing to bat first upon winning the toss.

Captain Babar Azam and Iftikhar Ahmed stood out with impressive centuries, with Ahmed notching an unbeaten 109 runs from 71 balls, including 11 fours and four sixes.

Azam, on the other hand, contributed 151 runs from 131 balls, featuring 14 fours and four sixes. His century marked a milestone as he became the quickest player to achieve 19 ODI centuries, accomplishing this feat in just 102 innings, surpassing Hashim Amla’s record of 104 innings.

Azam’s resilient partnership with Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 44 runs in 50 balls, and later with Iftikhar Ahmed, proved instrumental in shaping Pakistan’s commanding total.

The match held significance as both Nepal and Multan made their Asia Cup debuts, with this encounter also marking the first-ever top-level match between Pakistan and Nepal.

Nepal’s lineup: Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh (wk), Rohit Paudel (c), Aarif Sheikh, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulsan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi.

Pakistan’s lineup: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf.