Type to search

Cricket Sports

PCB Announces 18-Member Test Squad for Australia Tour

PCB Announces 18-Member Test Squad for Australia Tour

Chief selector Wahab Riaz has revealed the 18-member Pakistan Test squad for the upcoming tour to Australia, featuring three matches scheduled from December 14, 2023, to January 7, 2024. This marks Wahab’s inaugural assignment since assuming leadership of the national men’s selection committee just last week.

Shan Masood, in his debut as Test captain, will be leading the team. He was appointed as Pakistan’s captain for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle, taking over the role from Babar Azam in the previous week.

Left-handed opening batsman Saim Ayub has received his first Test team call-up following an impressive performance in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24. The 22-year-old amassed 553 runs in four matches for Karachi Whites, securing three centuries, including a decisive double century against Faisalabad in the tournament final. Saim Ayub continued his stellar form in the Pakistan Cup, where he emerged as the best batter and the highest run-scorer.

Also Read: ICC Revealed Team of the Cricket World Cup 2023, No Pakistani in the Team

In recognition of his successful domestic season, right-arm fast bowler Khurram Shahzad has earned his maiden Test call-up at the age of 23. Khurram was the leading wicket-taker in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, claiming 36 wickets in eight matches at an average of 20.31. He also performed well in the recently concluded Pakistan Cup, securing 13 wickets at an average of 16.62.

Pace bowling all-rounder Faheem Ashraf, absent from Test cricket since England’s tour of Pakistan in late 2022, makes a return to the squad.

Left-arm pacer Mir Hamza, boasting 32 wickets at an average of 20.88 in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, and right-arm pacer Mohammad Wasim Jnr are also making a comeback to the squad. Both fast bowlers were part of Pakistan’s team during New Zealand’s tour of Pakistan from December 2022 to January 2023.

The Pakistan squad for the Australia Tests includes:

Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.