Type to search

Cricket Sports

ICC Revealed Team of the Cricket World Cup 2023, No Pakistani in the Team

ICC Revealed Team of the Cricket World Cup 2023, No Pakistani in the Team

The ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 squad has been unveiled, with Rohit Sharma, the prolific Indian opener, leading the team.

The selection panel, comprised of commentators Ian Bishop, Kass Naidoo, Shane Watson, ICC General Manager of Cricket Wasim Khan, and journalist Sunil Vaidya, finalized the following lineup:

  1. Quinton de Kock (wk)

South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock assumes the wicket-keeping responsibilities, having showcased exceptional form with four centuries and 20 dismissals, the highest in the tournament. His consistent performance was instrumental in South Africa’s success.

  1. Rohit Sharma (c)

Indian captain Rohit Sharma, the second opener, garnered acclaim for maintaining an impressive average of over 50 and a strike rate exceeding 120 throughout the tournament. His pivotal role in setting up a strong foundation for India contributed significantly to the team’s success.

  1. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli secured the No. 3 position, making history with 50 ODI centuries in the 2023 World Cup. With a total of 765 runs, he not only earned the Player of the Tournament award but also emerged as the leading run-scorer in a single World Cup edition.

Also Read: Australia Taking The Trophy Home, Wins The WC 2023 Final

  1. Daryl Mitchell

New Zealand batter Daryl Mitchell claimed the fourth spot, displaying remarkable consistency with two half-centuries and two centuries, both against India’s formidable bowling lineup.

  1. KL Rahul

Indian batter KL Rahul claimed the No. 5 spot with an impressive tally of 552 runs at an average of 69, including a brilliant century against the Netherlands.

  1. Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell secured his place with outstanding all-round performances, becoming the first cricketer to score an ODI double-century while chasing. With a batting average exceeding 60 and a remarkable strike rate of 150, Maxwell also contributed with the ball, securing six wickets.

  1. Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja played a crucial role in maintaining team balance with his all-round abilities. While not registering centuries or half-centuries, his contribution of 120 runs at an average of 40.00 and a strike rate of 101.69 was significant.

  1. Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah showcased brilliance, particularly with his economy rate, finishing as the fourth-highest wicket-taker with 20 wickets and maintaining an economy rate below 5 throughout the tournament.

  1. Dilshan Madushanka

Sri Lankan left-arm pace bowler Dilshan Madushanka earned a spot with 21 wickets at an impressive average of 25, showcasing exceptional skills, especially in the opening overs.

  1. Adam Zampa

Adam Zampa, despite a slow start, emerged as the top wicket-taking spinner with three instances of claiming four wickets in a match and maintaining an economy rate below 6 in the batting-friendly conditions of India.

  1. Mohammad Shami

Despite missing the first four matches, Mohammad Shami emerged as the leading wicket-taker with 24 wickets, including three five-wicket hauls and a standout seven-wicket performance in the semi-final.

  1. Gerald Coetzee

South African emerging pace bowler Gerald Coetzee, the 12th player, secured 20 wickets at an average of 19.80. His noteworthy performance in the middle overs played a pivotal role in strengthening the Proteas’ bowling attack.