Type to search


Multan Sultans Win Third Consecutive Match In PSL 9

Multan Sultans Win Third Consecutive Match In PSL 9

Multan Sultans secured a convincing 5-wicket victory over Lahore Qalandars at the Multan Cricket Stadium, extending their winning streak to three consecutive matches. In the second toss of the day, Lahore Qalandars chose to bat first, sending Sahibzada Farhan and Fakhar Zaman to face Multan Sultan’s formidable bowling lineup.

The in-form fast bowler for Multan Sultans, Mohammad Ali, made a crucial breakthrough by dismissing Farhan on the third ball of the second over. Despite this setback, Lahore Qalandars ended the powerplay at 49-1, with Rassie van der Dussen and Fakhar establishing a partnership.

Read more: PSL 9: Multan Sultans Vs Lahore Qalandars: Live Updates Team Details

Mohammad Rizwan, typically reliable, missed a stumping opportunity in the 8th over that could have ended Rassie’s innings. To compound the errors, Rizwan dropped Fakhar’s skied catch, although Fakhar couldn’t capitalize and was dismissed for 41 (2×4, 2×6). Rassie contributed 54 runs (4×4, 2×6) before falling to Mir.

Multan Sultans’ fielding performance was subpar, with three dropped catches and a missed stumping. Mohammad ‘Daisy’ Ali impressed with bowling figures of 4-0-28-2, while Mir remained economical with figures of 4-0-25-1. Lahore Qalandars added 11 runs in the last over, concluding their innings at 166-5.

Multan’s batting innings began with Lahore Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi opting for a review on the second ball. The decision, which involved a ball hitting the back pad a bit high, remained unchanged.

In the second over, Dawid Malan’s wicket fell as newcomer Zaman Khan clean-bowled the Englishman. In-form Reeza Hendricks was the next to depart, smashing a straight delivery to cover fielder Fakhar Zaman.

Sultan’s captain, Mohammad Rizwan, played a crucial innings, scoring 82 runs (9×4, 3×6) with a strike rate of 138.98. Lahore Qalandars’ latest addition, George Linde, bowled an economical spell (4-0-26-1), limiting Multan Sultans’ run flow, while Shaheen Afridi returned to form with figures of 4-1-25-2.

The fielding struggles persisted as Fakhar Zaman conceded four easy runs on the boundary. Iftikhar Ahmed sealed the match in style by hitting 24 runs in the second-last over. Mohammad Rizwan was awarded the Player of the Match for his impactful performance.