Type to search

Election 2024

Yasmin Rashid Challenges Nawaz Sharif’s Win In NA-130 Lahore

Yasmin Rashid Challenges Nawaz Sharif's Win In NA-130 Lahore

In Lahore, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Dr Yasmin Rashid has contested the victory of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in the NA-130 constituency through a legal petition filed in the Lahore High Court (LHC) following the general elections on February 8. Nawaz Sharif, the leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), was declared the winner against Yasmin Rashid a day after the elections.

In the petition presented by Yasmin Rashid’s lawyer, Ishtiaq Chaudhry, it is argued that Nawaz Sharif did not win the election based on the vote count from Form 45, and he manipulated Form 47 in collusion with authorities to declare himself the winner. Unofficial and unverified results of the NA-130 constituency indicate that Nawaz Sharif secured 171,024 votes, while Yasmin received 115,043 votes.

Read more: NA-130 Election Outcome: Nawaz Sharif Surpasses Yasmin Rashid

Several other candidates who emerged as runners-up in different constituencies have also challenged the election results in the high court. For instance, PTI-backed independent candidate Shehzad Farooq has contested Maryam Nawaz’s victory in Lahore’s NA-119 constituency. In NA-127, PML-N winner Ata Tarar faces a challenge from PTI-supported independent candidate Zaheer Abbas Khokhar.

Rehana Dar, a PTI-supported candidate, has filed a petition for a vote recount in Sialkot’s NA-71, challenging the success of PML-N veteran Khawaja Asif. In Lahore’s NA-117, IPP president Aleem Khan’s victory has been contested, and the result of NA-126, where Saif ul Malook Khokhar emerged as the winner, has been challenged in Lahore High Court by Malik Tauqeer Khokhar.

Additionally, Malik Khalid Khokhar’s victory in Lahore’s PP-169 constituency, a PML-N candidate, has been challenged in court by a PTI-supported opponent. A petition for the recount of votes in Multan’s NA-148 has been filed by a PTI-supported independent candidate, challenging the narrow victory of former Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani.

In Sindh, PTI’s Haleem Adil Shaikh has challenged the result of NA-238, where MQM’s Sadiq Iftikhar was declared the winner. Furthermore, the victory of MQM leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui in NA-248 has been challenged by an independent candidate named Arsalan Khalid.

These legal challenges indicate a heightened level of scrutiny and disputes surrounding the election results in various constituencies, reflecting the post-election dynamics and the intensity of competition among political parties and candidates.