Type to search

Election 2024

LHC Considers Challenges To PML-N, IPP Candidates’ Election Win

LHC Considers Challenges To PML-N, IPP Candidates' Election Win

The Lahore High Court (LHC) has scheduled hearings for numerous petitions challenging the election outcomes in 20 Punjab constituencies, where many Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidates, including Nawaz Sharif, Maryam Nawaz, and Attar Tarar, secured victories.

Justice Baqar Najafi of the LHC is set to preside over the petitions on February 12 (Monday), as indicated by the cause list issued by the Registrar Office.

Read more: Elections 2024: Independent Winners Not Related To PTI

Dr. Yasmin Rashid, a candidate backed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), has contested the triumph of PML-N leader Nawaz Sharif in NA-130. She argues that, according to Form 45, the former prime minister lost the elections, asserting that Form 47 was altered to declare him the winner. The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), returning officer, and others are named as respondents in the petition.

Additionally, Shehzad Farooq, a PTI-supported candidate, has challenged the results of NA-119, where the PML-N chief organizer was declared the winner. Farooq alleges that he did not receive Form NA-45 from the presiding officer.

The victories of Hamza Shehbaz Sharif, Saiful Malook Khokar, Khwaja Asif, Atta Tarar, and other PML-N candidates have also been contested in the high court.

Moreover, the results of Aleem Khan’s success in NA-117 are subject to legal challenge. The petitioner urges the high court to nullify the results and call for a re-poll.

Recent unofficial results indicate that independent candidates are leading with 100 seats, followed by PML-N with 73 seats, PPPP with 54, and MQM-P with 17.