Type to search

Election 2024

Election 2024: Asif Zardari Clinches NA-207 Seat

Election 2024: Asif Zardari Clinches NA-207 Seat

Asif Ali Zardari, Co-Chairman of the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) and former president, achieved victory in the 2024 general elections in NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad.

Unofficial results reveal that Zardari secured a total of 146,989 votes in NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad, surpassing Sardar Sher Rind, an independent candidate backed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), who obtained 51,916 votes.

Read more: NA-130 Election Outcome: Nawaz Sharif Surpasses Yasmin Rashid

Earlier, in NA-201 Sukkur-II, PPP’s Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah declared victory with 120,219 votes, according to unofficial tallies.

The daylong polling process for the 2024 General Election concluded peacefully on Thursday, witnessing robust participation from voters across all age groups. Polling began nationwide at 8 am and continued without interruption until 5 pm, allowing citizens ample time to exercise their constitutional right to vote. Voters present at polling stations at closing time were permitted to cast their ballots, as confirmed by an Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) spokesperson.

With a voter base of over 128 million registered individuals, the democratic exercise covered elections for national and provincial legislatures, encompassing 265 seats in the National Assembly and 590 seats in provincial assemblies.