Type to search

Cricket Sports

Babar Azam Becomes Pakistan Captain, Replacing Shaheen

Babar Azam Becomes Pakistan Captain, Replacing Shaheen

Shaheen Shah Afridi’s tenure as T20I team captain concludes as Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) reinstates Babar Azam as skipper. The decision follows a meeting involving Mohsin Naqvi, Salman Naseer (Chief Operating Officer), and selection committee members Mohammad Yousuf, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Razzaq, Bilal Afzal, and Director of International Cricket Usman Wahla.

The PCB selection committee deliberated extensively, considering various factors, as Pakistan experienced a winless streak under Afridi’s leadership earlier this year.

Read more: Babar Azam Meets PCB Chief To Discuss Role

Babar Azam had previously stepped down from captaincy across all formats after Pakistan’s disappointing exit from the 2023 ODI World Cup. Subsequently, Shaheen Afridi assumed T20 captaincy, while Shan Masood took charge of the Test team.

Babar emerged as the frontrunner for captaincy following Lahore Qalandars’ impressive performance under Afridi’s guidance.

The decision to change captains sparked debate among fans, given Babar’s leadership track record. Although he led the South Asian side in five major tournaments, Pakistan failed to secure any ICC or Asia Cup titles during his tenure.

Despite this, Babar Azam remains a celebrated player renowned for his batting prowess and composure, holding a unique distinction of being among the top five players in all three formats according to the sport’s governing body.

Babar’s cricket journey commenced with his ODI debut in 2016, followed by Test and T20 debuts in the same year. His illustrious career includes winning the Under-15 World Cup at the age of 14 and participating in two Under-19 World Cups.

This power-hitting batsman has set numerous records in international cricket and showcased his talent in various T20 leagues worldwide.