Type to search

Cricket Sports

Australia Unveils Test squad For Test Series Against Pakistan

Australia Unveils Test squad For Test Series Against Pakistan

Pakistan and Australia are gearing up for a 3-match Test series, the Benaud-Qadir Trophy, with the hosts unveiling their traveling squad for the series starting on December 14.

Aussie opener David Warner has been included in the series, and the 37-year-old is expected to bid farewell to red-ball cricket on his own terms. Warner, who has been in the headlines for less favorable reasons, is set to have his dream farewell at his home ground in Sydney next month. His selection in the playing XI has raised questions, given his average of 28 in test matches since 2019 when he scored a triple ton against Team Pakistan.

Read more : Pakistan Test Squad Departs for Australia Tour With High Spirit

In addition to Warner, Australian fast bowler Lance Morris has been brought back into the squad, while Cameron Green, Mitch Marsh, and Alex Carey have also been selected for the game.

Seamer Nathan Lyon has recovered from injury, taking the place of Todd Murphy.

However, David Warner’s inclusion in the squad with hopes for a Sydney farewell has faced criticism from his ex-teammate, fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, who slammed Warner for his role in one of the biggest scandals in Australian cricket history – the 2018 ball-tampering scandal. Warner was banned for a year for his involvement in the incident.

Australia Squad: Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner.