Type to search

Election 2024

Malik Ahmad Khan Takes Oath As Punjab Assembly Speaker

Malik Ahmad Khan Takes Oath As Punjab Assembly Speaker

In a significant development in the provincial legislature, Malik Ahmed Khan, a leader of the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), has been elected as the Speaker for the Punjab Assembly, securing a tenure of the next five years. The PML-N further solidified its influence in the Punjab Assembly as Malik Zaheer Iqbal Chand won the election for the Deputy Speaker, and Malik Muhammad Ahmad Khan took the oath as the Speaker.

The oath of office for Malik Ahmad Khan was administered by the outgoing Speaker, Sabtain Khan. Malik’s victory was resounding, with him securing 224 votes compared to his opponent, who managed only 96 votes. This triumph adds to the series of successful moments for the PML-N, with Malik Ahmad assuming the responsibilities of the Speaker.

Read more: Punjab Assemblys Members To Take Oath Today

The Deputy Speaker election, held on Saturday, witnessed over 300 members casting their votes, resulting in Malik Zaheer Iqbal Chand winning with 220 votes. Moin Riaz, the candidate from the Sunni Ittehad Council, received 103 votes.

The election of the Speaker further enhances the PML-N’s standing in the Punjab Assembly, providing the party with the opportunity to nominate its candidate for the upcoming Chief Minister election. Maryam Nawaz, the Chief Minister nominee, extended her congratulations to Malik Ahmad Khan.

With the positions of Speaker and Deputy Speaker now filled, the Punjab Assembly session has been adjourned until February 26th, when the Chief Minister will be elected. This development marks a pivotal moment in the political landscape of Punjab, showcasing the PML-N’s continued influence and strategic positioning in the provincial assembly.