Type to search

Cricket Sports

PAK Vs NZ: New Zealand Wins Second T20I, Leading 2-0 By 21 runs

PAK Vs NZ: New Zealand Wins Second T20I, Leading 2-0 By 21 runs

New Zealand showcased a much-improved performance in the second T20I against Pakistan, securing a 2-0 lead in the series. Setting a formidable target of 195 runs at Seddon Park, Hamilton, New Zealand delivered a strong batting performance.

Finn Allen played a pivotal role in New Zealand’s innings, launching a spectacular assault on the Pakistani bowlers. The 24-year-old right-hander crafted a quickfire innings, scoring 74 runs from just 41 balls, featuring seven fours and five sixes, providing a solid foundation for the home side. However, momentum slowed after Allen’s dismissal in the 13th over, attributed to Usama Mir’s googly.

Read more : How To Watch Pak Vs NZ 2nd T20i Live?

Despite reaching 137-2 in 13 overs, New Zealand couldn’t maintain the tempo after Allen’s departure. The Pakistani bowlers staged a remarkable comeback, restricting the Kiwis to a total of 194 runs. Haris Rauf played a crucial role, taking three wickets in the 19th over and emerging as Pakistan’s leading wicket-taker in the match. Except for skipper Shaheen Afridi, all of Pakistan’s bowlers made significant contributions with wickets.

Choosing to bowl first after winning the toss, Shaheen Afridi led an unchanged playing XI for Pakistan, maintaining the lineup from the previous match where they suffered a 46-run defeat. New Zealand, with a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20I series, continued to hold a strong position.

The playing XIs were as follows:

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Aamer Jamal, Usama Mir, Shaheen Afridi ©, Abbas Afridi, Haris Rauf

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson ©, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears