Type to search


Karachi Kings To Face Multan Sultans In PSL 9

Karachi Kings To Face Multan Sultans In PSL 9

Having faced consecutive defeats against Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United, Karachi Kings are determined to make a comeback and redeem themselves by defeating table-toppers Multan Sultans on their home ground today.

With three losses and two wins from five matches, skipper Shan Masood’s side has slipped to the fifth spot in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) points table. On the other hand, Multan Sultans, led by Rizwan, have shown remarkable form, losing only one match out of six and positioning themselves strongly for a playoff berth.

Read more: PSL 9 Double-Header Faces Potential Rain Threat

Multan Sultans expressed their readiness for the match by sharing glimpses of their practice session at the National Bank Arena stadium on social media platform X, captioned “Bowling under the Karachi sun.”

Karachi Kings will look to James Vince, Tim Seifert, and skipper Masood for notable performances, with former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik expected to find form and guide the team to victory. The Kings’ spin trio of Tabraiz Shamsi, Mohammad Nawaz, and Malik must offer strong support to the bowling lineup.

Multan Sultans, with a formidable squad, have had consistent performances from spinner Usama Mir and bowler Mohammad Ali. Skipper Rizwan, along with Usman Khan, Tayyab Tahir, and David Willey, has significantly contributed to the team’s success.

In their previous encounter on Feb 18, the Sultans secured a comfortable 55-run victory over the Kings. The upcoming match at 7:00 pm local time will determine whether history repeats itself or if the Kings cause an upset to intensify the competition.

Probable Playing XIs:

Multan Sultans: Reeza Hendricks, Mohammad Rizwan (c/wk), Dawid Malan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Tayyab Tahir, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani

Karachi Kings: Shan Masood (c), James Vince, Mohammad Akhlaq, Shoaib Malik, Irfan Niazi, Mohammad Nawaz, Daniel Sams, Hasan Ali, Blessing Muzarabani, Mir Hamza, Tabraiz Shamsi