Type to search

Election 2024

KP Assembly To Choose Chief Minister Today

KP Assembly To Choose Chief Minister Today

Today, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly is poised to select a new chief minister, with Ali Amin Gandapur, nominated by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), vying against Dr Ibadullah Khan, the candidate put forth by the PML-N.

In the preceding session, Babar Saleem Swati clinched victory as the speaker, while Suraiya Bibi secured the position of deputy speaker. With a PTI-backed majority in the house, the proceedings unfolded peacefully, accompanied by slogans in support of the PTI founder.

Read more: New KP Cabinet: Allocation of Ministries

Swati emerged triumphant over Ehsanullah Khan, the joint candidate of the PPP, ANP, PML-N, and PTI-Parliamentarians, securing 89 out of 106 votes. Outgoing speaker Mushtaq Ghani administered the oath to Swati. Following this, the voting for the deputy speaker took place, resulting in Suraiya Bibi’s win over PTI-P’s Arbab Muhammad Waseem with 87 votes to 19. However, the JUI-F boycotted the session.

Meanwhile, in Balochistan, the Assembly is scheduled to elect a chief minister tomorrow. The PPP, aiming for an uncontested victory, is yet to announce its candidate. Sources suggest that the announcement will be made today, echoing the uncontested election of the Balochistan Assembly speaker.