Type to search

Cricket Sports

Michael Bracewell To Lead NZ Squad For Pak T20i Series

Michael Bracewell To Lead NZ Squad For Pak T20i Series

New Zealand has revealed its lineup for a five-match T20 series against Pakistan, with notable absences attributed to IPL commitments.

Michael Bracewell assumes the captaincy for the first time for the upcoming series set for later this month. The 33-year-old missed out on international action last year due to a string of injuries.

Read more: Check Cricket Players Fitness Training At Kakul

Bracewell, an all-rounder, will lead a squad comprising seven seasoned players alongside two debutants. Tim Robinson and Will O’Rourke earn their maiden call-ups to the Black Caps T20I squad.

The Black Caps are gearing up for three encounters against Pakistan in Rawalpindi and two in Lahore starting April 18. The T20 World Cup is slated to run from June 1 to 29.

Key New Zealand players such as Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, and Kane Williamson are absent due to their IPL commitments.

Tim Southee’s exclusion from selection is aimed at providing him with a well-deserved rest following an intense playing schedule across various formats.

The touring party, including players and support staff, will depart for Pakistan on April 12, with the opening match against the Green Shirts scheduled in Rawalpindi on April 18.

New Zealand Squad for Pakistan:
Captain: Michael Bracewell
Players: Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi