Type to search

Cricket Sports

India Announce Its Squad For Asia Cup 2023

India announce its squad for Asia Cup 2023

MUMBAI – India has officially declared the lineup of players for the upcoming ACC Men’s Asia Cup 2023, scheduled to kick off on August 30. The tournament’s inaugural match is set to take place at the Multan Cricket Stadium, featuring Pakistan and Nepal.

The announcement of the squad was made through the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on the social media platform X, formerly known as Twitter. The selection committee has chosen a group of 17 players for this significant regional event. India is also slated to compete against Sri Lanka’s Team Green on September 2.

Read more : Ramiz Raja Not Included in Asia Cup 2023 Commentary Panel

The selected Indian squad consists of the following members:

– Rohit Sharma (Captain)
– Shubman Gill
– Virat Kohli
– Shreyas Iyer
– Suryakumar Yadav
– Tilak Varma
– KL Rahul
– Ishan Kishan
– Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain)
– Ravindra Jadeja
– Shardul Thakur
– Axar Patel
– Kuldeep Yadav
– Jasprit Bumrah
– Mohd. Shami
– Mohd. Siraj
– Prasidh Krishna

On August 9, Inzamam-ul-Haq, the chief selector of Pakistan’s national cricket team, unveiled the lineup for the three-match One-Day International series against Afghanistan and the ACC Men’s Asia Cup 2023.

An 18-player team is set to confront Afghanistan in Sri Lanka from August 22 to 26, paving the way for the Asia Cup to commence on August 30.

Pakistan’s Squad Includes:

– Babar Azam (Captain)
– Fakhar
– M Rizwan
– Shadab Khan
– Abdullah Shafique
– Faheem Ashraf
– Haris Rauf
– Iftikhar Ahmed
– Imam Ul Haq
– M Haris
– M Wasim Jr
– Saud Shakeel
– Naseem Shah
– Agha Salman
– Shaheen Afridi
– Tayyab Tahir
– Usama Mir

It’s noteworthy that Saud Shakeel has been exclusively chosen for the Afghanistan ODIs, although there’s a possibility of his inclusion in the Asia Cup squad if deemed necessary.