Type to search

Cricket Sports

Shaheen Afridi Confirmed As Pakistan’s T20 Captain

Shaheen Afridi Confirmed As Pakistan's T20 Captain

Pakistan’s top fast bowler, Shaheen Afridi, is now the captain of the T20I team, succeeding Babar Azam, who resigned earlier today. Babar, with an impressive tenure spanning nearly four years, guided the T20I squad to the semi-finals of the 2021 T20 World Cup and the final of the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Having led the T20I side in 73 matches, Babar secured victories in 42 games, faced 23 losses, and had 6 matches with no result. His win percentage of 59.15 ranks as the 5th best in Pakistan’s history.

Read more : Will Shaheen Afridi and Shan Masood Replace Babar Azam As Captain?

Shaheen Afridi assumes the captaincy immediately as Pakistan gears up for the T20 World Cup in 2024. The left-arm pacer boasts success as one of the most effective captains in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), leading Lahore Qalandars to consecutive trophies after a trophyless initial six years. Tasked with leading the national side to victory, Shaheen aims to secure Pakistan’s second T20 World Cup title.