Type to search


PSL 9: Multan Sultans To Face Karachi Kings

PSL 9: Multan Sultans To Face Karachi Kings

The ninth season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is underway, and a double-header is scheduled as Multan Sultans host the Karachi Kings in a night encounter at the Multan Cricket Stadium.

In the previous 11 encounters between these two teams, the Karachi Kings hold a slight advantage, having secured victory in six matches, while Multan Sultans have won five.

Read more: PSL 9: Peshawar Zalmi vs Quetta Gladiators

Known for their consistency in recent PSL seasons, Multan Sultans have reached the finals in the last three campaigns. Led by wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan, the team boasts a strong batting lineup featuring local talents such as Iftikhar Ahmed and Khushdil Shah, along with international batting prowess in players like Dawid Malan and Reeza Hendricks. However, the absence of a quality all-rounder in the middle order, with David Willey being the sole international option, poses a challenge. In the bowling department, the team faces challenges with key fast bowlers Ihsanullah and Reece Topley sidelined due to injuries. Chris Jordan and Shahnawaz Dahani are expected to lead the new-ball attack, with Usama Mir and Faisal Akram handling spin duties.

On the other hand, the Karachi Kings, aiming for an improved performance after finishing in the bottom two in the previous two seasons, have strengthened their middle order with the addition of all-rounders Kieron Pollard and Daniel Sams. Experienced campaigners Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Nawaz provide valuable PSL experience. However, the absence of Jamie Overton due to injuries challenges Karachi Kings’ pace attack, putting added pressure on Hasan Ali and Mir Hamza.

As for the pitch conditions at the Multan Cricket Stadium, it heavily favors batsmen, with expectations of high-scoring encounters. Opting to bowl first is advisable due to potential dew in the latter innings, and a total exceeding 180 runs is considered competitive.

The playing XIs for Multan Sultans include Reeza Hendricks, Mohammad Rizwan (c/wk), Dawid Malan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Tayyab Tahir, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, and Shahnawaz Dahani. Karachi Kings’ playing XI comprises Shan Masood (c), James Vince, Mohammad Akhlaq, Shoaib Malik, Irfan Niazi, Mohammad Nawaz, Daniel Sams, Hasan Ali, Blessing Muzarabani, Mir Hamza, and Tabraiz Shamsi.