Type to search

Cricket Sports

PCB Announces 15 Member Squad for World Cup 2023

PCB Announces 15 Member Squad for World Cup 2023

The 15-member squad for the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup in India has been officially unveiled by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

In this announced lineup, Babar Azam will serve as the captain of the Men in Green, with Shadab Khan taking on the role of vice-captain for this prestigious tournament, set to commence on October 5.

The opening positions will be handled by left-handed batsmen Imam-ul-Haq and Fakhar Zaman, alongside Abdullah Shafique, who will also join the national squad.

In the middle-order, the team will rely on Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, and Saud Shakeel, while Mohammad Rizwan will fulfill the duties of the wicket-keeper batsman.

The fast bowling unit will feature Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Mohammad Wasim Jr., and Mohammad Nawaz will contribute as a bowling all-rounder.

Notably, Hasan Ali has been selected to replace the injured Naseem Shah in the squad.

Pakistan’s journey in the 2023 World Cup will commence on October 5 with a match against the Netherlands, which will be hosted at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad.

Here is Pakistan’s Squad for World Cup 2023:

Babar Azam (c) Imam-ul-Haq Fakhar Zaman Mohammad Rizwan

Salman Agha

Iftikhar Ahmed

Saud Shakeel Shadab Khan (vc) Mohammad Nawaz

Shaheen Afridi

Haris Rauf

Usama Mir Mohammad Wasim Jr. Abdullah Shafique

Hasan Ali