Female Umpire’s Comical Error Post DRS Review
During the second ODI between South Africa and Australia at the Sydney Oval, umpire Claire Polosak, who previously made history as the first female official in the men’s Sheffield Shield competition, found herself at the center of attention. A humorous incident unfolded when, after a Decision Review System (DRS) review, she mistakenly declared a not-out decision as “out.”
Polosak, displaying an amusing expression, raised her arm for the wrong call, leading to laughter from the players. Realizing her mistake, she swiftly corrected her decision, but the moment was captured and quickly became viral on social media.
In this particular match, South Africa’s women’s team was batting against Australia in a game that experienced delays due to rain. Australia, having won the toss, opted to field first, limiting the Proteas to 169-5 in 35.5 overs. Play was expected to resume after the rain delay, and South Africa aimed to set a competitive total against Australia to level the series, with the Kangaroos emerging victorious in the first ODI by eight wickets.
— CricTracker (@Cricketracker) February 7, 2024
The third and final ODI between the two cricketing giants is scheduled for February 10 in North Sydney.