Type to search


Ex-Cricketers Predict Outcome of Highly-Anticipated PAK vs IND Clash

Ex-Cricketers Predict Outcome of Highly-Anticipated PAK vs IND Clash

NEW YORK: Former Pakistan coach Waqar Younis has shared his predictions for the highly anticipated match between Pakistan and India, set to take place today at Nassau County International Stadium in New York.

Following their defeat in the opening match against the US, Pakistan is preparing to face India. In contrast, the Indian team is in good form, having secured an eight-wicket victory against Ireland earlier this week.

Younis commented on the pitch conditions, suggesting an evenly contested match. “My heart says Pakistan, but from what I’ve seen so far in this tournament, the pitch in New York favors faster bowlers. So, it evens it out a little bit just purely because of the surface,” he said.

Meanwhile, former cricketer Wasim Akram indicated that India seems to have the upper hand, estimating a 60% chance of victory for India against Pakistan. However, he noted the unpredictable nature of T20 cricket. “India generally are a better team and favorites heading into that game. But it’s T20I, one good innings or one good spell, and the game can change quickly,” Akram remarked.

Historically, India has dominated the T20 World Cup encounters between the two teams, winning five out of seven matches, while Pakistan has only one victory, achieved in 2021. One match ended in a tie.

Pakistan is in desperate need of a win after their significant loss to the United States. After facing India, they will play against Canada on Tuesday at the same venue.

Playing XI for Both Teams:


  • Babar Azam (c)
  • Saim Ayub
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Azam Khan
  • Shadab Khan
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Usman Khan
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Imad Wasim
  • Abrar Ahmed
  • Mohammad Abbas Afridi
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Naseem Shah
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Haris Rauf


  • Rohit Sharma (c)
  • Hardik Pandya (vc)
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Virat Kohli
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Rishabh Pant (wk)
  • Sanju Samson (wk)
  • Shivam Dube
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Axar Patel
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohd. Siraj


  • Shubman Gill
  • Rinku Singh
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • Avesh Khan